The Diary of a First Time Mum Part 4

As pregnancy ticks on, things don’t seem to get more real. As the stomach grows and the skin stretches, I still found it hard to believe that there was a little life in there.

A deep maternal instinct told me to keep bump safe; to protect it from the struggles of this world. A feeling I am sure will remain far beyond pregnancy and childhood.

No matter how many books we read or how much we frequented the Pampers website telling us which stage our little one was at week on week, it still felt a little surreal. And it still feels surreal now to think about where our wee lad began his life.

Even when my husband takes him now, at a few months old, sits him on my stomach and says “can you imagine him in there?”

No, but I’m really glad he wasn’t that size when he was!

Apparently, you couldn’t tell that I was pregnant until I turned around. Result! Trust me, I know how lucky I was. Especially since my hands and feet stayed their original size too.
I have the feeling that other new mums will be swearing at me right now after that information.

It trucks on and the bump grows. Suddenly its huge and when people ask how you feel, you can confidently say:

“I feel the size of a barge.”

Leave a Reply

